top of page

wondering how long i'll be in the in-between



I'm sure I'm not alone when I say that I feel stuck, I feel utterly stuck in this life sometimes. As if seeing the engagement and pregnancy announcements on social media in college from my friends that were a few years older than me wasn't enough to make we want to wish my college years away... I am now in the present of the people my age experiencing these life-changing milestones. And this feeling is much different. I can't help but wonder how long I'll be in the in-between.


There are times where I want to enjoy this time of singleness, send thankfulness to God for giving me time to work on and prepare myself for the time when I will be experiencing those milestones on my own. But there are many times when I feel stuck and quite sad. Wondering if I'm behind in life and living too ordinary. The common moving back to my hometown after college as if there is nothing special about me. Does my life lack the important milestones because I'm not buying a house, wearing a ring, or moving to an unknown city? No, it doesn't. I may not be experiencing those milestones now, but I am experiencing life changing milestones that are designed for me in this moment in my life. I have been working my first full time job for four months now, I'm saving up for a place of my own(?), I'm connecting with friends, and you know.. maybe those are all the milestones for now, and that's okay. My life changing milestones are no more or less worthy than other's, but they're mine and that's a beautiful thing.


Maybe you feel similar to me, or maybe you're experiencing those milestones I am praying to experience one day, but whichever you may be feeling/experiencing, I hope you're seeing the beauty in all of it. God has uniquely woven your life into place and He will continue crafting His plan uniquely for you. Some days I feel happy about where I am in life, and other days I feel behind and engulfed in sadness. But the truth is, I will feel these emotions wherever I am in life. And through it all, I must remember to put my trust in God and the plan designed for me. It's not easy and I hope that if you feel the same, you now know you are not alone and that our lives are allowed to feel plain in their own exciting way :)


xoxo,

mally grace

bottom of page