top of page

right where you should be.


Often times, I think of the quote, "Other people's successes are not your failures." This is especially a good reminder with where I currently am in life. I know I've said it before, but your twenties are an unusual time. I have friends preparing for marriage and children, and friends who are experiencing another failed situationship. I have friends traveling the world, and friends like me who rarely leave their hometown ... but, what is ours will find us.


I believe this time in my life is preparing me for something much better, but I also believe I am right where I'm supposed to be. For the women my age, we are surrounded by the "that girl" movement on TikTok and Instagram. This idea of a woman who is in complete control of her life through workout routines, mindfulness, a steady work/social life balance, a healthy diet, and time to travel. I'm here to tell you that I am far from that, and that is okay! There are weekends where my parents would attest that I had "too much fun," and there are weekends I spend cleaning my apartment and purchasing plants at the farmers' market - might I add, both of these events may fall in the same weekend at times.


I am slowly starting to appreciate the unknown and awkwardness of my twenties. I may not be where I thought I'd be at this age, but my twelve year old self was also less aware of the world around her than I am now. It can truly suck at times when I see that friends are traveling Europe or simply taking a vacation on the beach with their partner. My mind goes through a list of questions summarized down to "Why not me?" These questions make me feel as if I am doing it all wrong. They make me feel as if while others gain something I don't have, then I must be lacking - but none of that is true and I cannot allow that narrative in my head.


While some around me might be planning a wedding, or getting a promotion at their job, I can show excitement without feeling sorry for myself. Many weeknights, I spend enjoying happy hour drinks and trivia with my friends, or I spend it alone in my apartment watching another romcom from the 80's, both of which bring me joy at this time in my life. Since I moved back to my hometown after graduating college last year, I have met so many incredible people and while some are in different phases of life, I can see that we are all right where we're supposed to be. So celebrate those around you for their accomplishments and successes regardless of what they might be, but don't forget to celebrate yourself too!


I will leave this verbose, train-wreck of a post with a song suggestion that not only is a good bop, but has relatable lyrics to this time in my life. So if you're feeling similar, grab a cold one (whatever that may be) and give "Right Where You Should Be" by Quinn XCII a listen.


sincerely,

mally grace :)

bottom of page